One of my favorite hummus recipes is from Ina Garten:
Hummus is great vegan fare. Made with four main ingredients – chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice and garlic – hummus is delicious and easy to make. I usually use canned chickpeas, but you can use dry garbanzos and soak them overnight. Choose whether you want to flash boil the chickpeas, quick-fry the garlic, or leave both raw. Simply mix the ingredients together in a blender or food processor, adding cold water if it is too thick. You can add salt, paprika, thyme, or olive oil for extra flavor. After a few times, you will be able to make this recipe in the dark. Best of luck!
Many people have chosen to eat less meat or no meat for health reasons, or to respect animal life. Vegetarians prefer a diet free of animal meats, while Vegans also omit animal-produced products like milk and eggs from their diets. Vegetarianism has its roots in Indian traditions, where it was forbidden to kill cows for meat, and in religious traditions that forbid the eating of pork, but for modern-day vegetarians, there are many reasons to forgo eating meat, including the goal of creating a cruelty-free world.
Our Kent Natural Foods staff is dedicated to healthy food and good eating! You can find all of the ingredients for these recipes available at KNFC. Here are some staff favorites for your enjoyment.
The macrobiotic approach to living originated in Japan, and includes a philosophy of eating locally available vegetables and grains when they are in season. Kent Natural Foods Co-op is lucky to have a macrobiotic chef on staff, and here are some of her favorite recipes:
Many people have found that switching to a wheat-free or gluten-free diet improves health. In a society that subsidizes wheat production, many of the other healthy grains and seeds are ignored. For example, Kent Natural Foods Co-op carries Teff Flour, from a grain grown by American pioneers that is also popular in Africa.
Other gluten-free alternatives include Quinoa Flour, Amaranth Flour, and Brown Rice Flour. Corn Flour contains corn gluten, but is wheat-free. For those who avoid wheat, products made from Spelt and Kamut grains are available, but Spelt and Kamut do contain a gluten protein that is similar to wheat.